Direct Answer
For most RV owners replacing a single Group 27 or Group 31 lead-acid battery, the Battle Born BB10012 is the most thoroughly documented option at the premium end, with a 10-year non-prorated warranty and a manufacturer manual we verified this session. If your priority is cold-weather charging, look specifically for a self-heating model with a documented automatic low-temperature charge cutoff, because the BMS on most standard lithium batteries will stop accepting a charge at 32 degrees F (0 degrees C) without warning.
This page covers what the specs mean model by model. For the chemistry comparison between lithium and AGM, see Lithium vs AGM RV Batteries. For sizing your bank in amp-hours, see How Many Amp Hours Do I Need for Boondocking. For sizing the converter that charges your bank, see the worked example at What Size Converter for a 100Ah Lithium Battery or run the numbers yourself at the battery bank calculator.
What the Specs Actually Mean for RV Buyers
Before comparing models, four spec categories matter most for RV use:
BMS continuous discharge current. The maximum sustained current the BMS will pass before disconnecting. An inverter running a microwave draws 150A or more from a 12V bank; a battery rated at 100A continuous cannot support that load without tripping.
Charge temperature cutoff. Every LiFePO4 BMS stops accepting charge current below a minimum cell temperature. Lithium plating forms when cells are charged too cold, permanently reducing capacity. The cutoff differs by model and must be checked per that model's documentation. This is safety-critical. Models without active self-heating will simply stop charging below the cutoff, with no warning except a charge voltage that does not rise.
Cycle life test conditions. A cycle life claim means nothing without its test conditions. Cycles claimed at 80% DOD under controlled 25 degrees C lab conditions are not directly comparable to 100% DOD cycling. Read the parenthetical.
Warranty terms and transferability. Prorated versus non-prorated matters. A prorated warranty returns less money the older the battery gets. Non-transferable warranties are worth less if you sell the RV.
Model-by-Model Breakdown
Battle Born BB10012: 100Ah 12V LiFePO4
The BB10012 is the reference model for this guide and is the battery cited in our related converter sizing page. All figures below come from the Battle Born BB10012 / BB10012H manufacturer manual, which we extracted directly via the manufacturer's hosted PDF this session.
Key specifications from the BB10012 manual:
- Capacity: 100Ah
- Max continuous discharge current: 100A
- Peak discharge: 200A for 30 seconds; surge for loads over 200A for 0.5 seconds
- Max charge current: 50A (also the recommended 0.5C rate for this 100Ah battery)
- Absorption voltage: 14.2V to 14.6V
- Float voltage: 13.4V to 13.8V
- BMS high-voltage cutoff: 14.7V
- BMS low-voltage cutoff: 10V (recommended low-voltage disconnect: 10.5V)
- Cycle life: 3,000-5,000 cycles (the manual states this figure without specifying DOD or test temperature in the summary section; contact Battle Born for test condition detail)
- Warranty: 10 years, non-prorated for the first 8 years; prorated discount option applies in years 9-10. Non-transferable. Original purchaser only.
- Physical: Group 27 and Group 31 compatible drop-in. Assembled in Reno, Nevada.
Charge temperature: the BB10012 internal discrepancy
The BB10012 manual has an unresolved discrepancy. The spec table on page 7 states 25 degrees F to 135 degrees F as the charge temperature range. The charging profile section (page 16) states 32 degrees F to 131 degrees F. The BMS section (page 22) reads: "The BMS will not allow a charging current under 32 degrees F (0 degrees C)." The conservative guidance for RV use: do not charge the BB10012 at or below 32 degrees F. The standard BB10012 has no self-heating. The BB10012H is a separate heated model; verify its specs independently.
Discharge temperature: The spec table states -4 degrees F to 135 degrees F (-20 degrees C to 57.2 degrees C). The BMS section states discharge is permitted to -4 degrees F (-20 degrees C), and the BMS will prevent discharging if the internal temperature reaches 140 degrees F (60 degrees C) or higher.
Converter compatibility note: The BB10012 requires a converter that can reach 14.2-14.6V during bulk/absorption. The max charge current of 50A is both the recommended rate and the BMS maximum. A converter delivering more than 50A of charge current to this battery alone will trigger a BMS disconnect. See the converter sizing page for the worked example.
---
Renogy 12V 100Ah Smart LiFePO4 w/ Bluetooth and Self-Heating (RBT12100LFP-BT-US)
This is the Pro Series model with active self-heating and Bluetooth monitoring. It is a different product from Renogy's standard Core Series (RBT12100LFP-G1) and the older standard Bluetooth model (RBT100LFP12-BT). Do not assume specs carry across Renogy model families.
Key specifications for RBT12100LFP-BT-US (read directly from the renogy.com specification table in a live browser session, 2026-09-23):
- Capacity: 100Ah, Nominal voltage: 12.8V
- Voltage range: 10V to 14.8V
- Max continuous charge current: 100A
- Max continuous discharge current: 100A
- Peak discharge: 245A at 30 seconds
- Charge voltage: 14.4V
- Cycle life: 5,000 cycles (0.5C, 25 degrees C, 80% DOD, 80% end-of-life capacity)
- Charge temperature range: -4 degrees F to 131 degrees F (-20 degrees C to 55 degrees C), which is the published range for this self-heating model
- Self-heating activates when battery temperature drops below 41 degrees F (5 degrees C) and stops when temperature exceeds 50 degrees F (10 degrees C)
- Discharge temperature range: -4 degrees F to 140 degrees F (-20 degrees C to 60 degrees C)
- Protection rating: IP67
- Warranty: 7 years (material and workmanship, per Renogy's current warranty document)
- Weight: 26.9 lbs (12.2 kg)
- Dimensions: 10.6 x 7.6 x 8.1 in (268 x 193 x 205 mm)
- Certifications: MSDS, UN38.3, FCC, CE, PSE, UKCA
Self-heating significance for RV cold-weather use: Without self-heating, a battery in a cold bay will not accept a charge until cells warm up internally. This model actively heats the cells before allowing the BMS to pass charge current. The 41 degrees F (5 degrees C) activation threshold means the battery begins warming before hitting the 32 degrees F cutoff that would stop a non-heated model entirely.
Note on RV fitment: This model is parallel-only (up to 8 batteries). It cannot be connected in series. Confirm your battery bay can accommodate 10.6 x 7.6 x 8.1 in before ordering. It does not share dimensions with the older RBT100LFP12-BT (330 x 172 x 214 mm / 12.99 x 6.77 x 8.43 in), and dimensions differ from the BB10012 as well. Physical fitment must be verified against your specific coach.
---
Renogy 12V 100Ah Core Series (RBT12100LFP-G1)
The Core Series is Renogy's standard drop-in model. It does not include self-heating or Bluetooth, but it supports both series and parallel connections (up to 4S4P), which makes it more flexible for building 24V or 48V bank configurations.
Key specifications for RBT12100LFP-G1 (read directly from the renogy.com specification table in a live browser session, 2026-09-23):
- Capacity: 100Ah, Nominal voltage: 12.8V
- Charge voltage: 14.4V
- Max continuous charge current: 100A
- Max continuous discharge current: 100A
- Peak discharge: 300A at 10 seconds
- Charge temperature range: 32 degrees F to 131 degrees F (0 degrees C to 55 degrees C). The BMS blocks charging below 32 degrees F. The Core has no self-heating, so below freezing it stops accepting charge rather than warming itself first.
- Discharge temperature range: -4 degrees F to 140 degrees F (-20 degrees C to 60 degrees C)
- Cycle life: 5,000 cycles (0.5C/1C, 25 degrees C, 80% DOD, 80% end-of-life capacity)
- Weight: 23.15 lbs (10.5 kg)
- Dimensions: 10.6 x 6.9 x 8.6 in (260 x 169 x 211 mm)
- Connection: Series and parallel (4S4P max)
- Protection rating: IP65
- Warranty: 5 years, material and workmanship
- Certifications: MSDS, UN38.3, FCC, CE, PSE, UKCA
Charge temperature note: The standard Core model has no active heating. Below 32 degrees F, the BMS will not allow charging current. For three-season RV use where temperatures rarely go below freezing in the battery bay, this is not a concern. For winter camping or northern climates, consider the self-heating Pro model or an external battery heater blanket (verify compatibility with your specific battery before use).
---
LiTime 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 (Standard Group 31)
LiTime (formerly Ampere Time) is the most price-competitive brand in this comparison. The standard Group 31 model uses the same Group 31 form factor as the BB10012. Key specifications for LiTime 12V 100Ah standard (Group 31) (read directly from the litime.com specification table in a live browser session, 2026-09-23):
- Capacity: 100Ah, Nominal voltage: 12.8V
- Max continuous charge current: 100A
- Max continuous discharge current: 100A
- Max peak discharge: 400A at 1 second
- Charge voltage: 14.4V plus or minus 0.2V
- Recommended charge current: 20A (per litime.com product page)
- Charge temperature range: 32 degrees F to 122 degrees F (0 degrees C to 50 degrees C). The BMS blocks charging below 32 degrees F. This model has no self-heating, so in freezing weather it simply will not accept charge rather than warming itself first.
- Discharge temperature range: -4 degrees F to 140 degrees F (-20 degrees C to 60 degrees C)
- Cycle life: 4,000 cycles at 100% DOD; 6,000 cycles at 80% DOD; 15,000 cycles at 60% DOD (per litime.com product listing)
- Weight: approximately 24.25 lbs
- Dimensions (Group 31): 13 x 6.77 x 8.43 in
- Warranty: 5 years per litime.com
- Certifications: FCC, CE, RoHS, UN38.3 (IEC 62619 noted on some listings)
- Protection rating: IP65
Charge temperature note: The standard model blocks charging below 32 degrees F. LiTime offers a separate self-heating model; verify its specs on litime.com before purchasing.
Recommended charge current note: LiTime's product listing states a recommended charge current of 20A on the standard 100Ah model, which is 0.2C. The max is 100A. For RV converter sizing, your converter can deliver up to 100A of charge current to this battery without triggering a BMS disconnect, but the listed recommended rate is lower than the BMS maximum. When sizing a converter or charge controller, verify which figure your system will operate at and whether that rate is sustainable for your converter.
---
Model Comparison Table
| Spec | Battle Born BB10012 | Renogy RBT12100LFP-BT-US (Pro w/ Heating) | Renogy RBT12100LFP-G1 (Core) | LiTime 12V 100Ah (Group 31) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Capacity | 100Ah | 100Ah | 100Ah | 100Ah |
| Continuous discharge | 100A | 100A | 100A | 100A |
| Peak discharge | 200A at 30s | 245A at 30s | 300A at 10s | 400A at 1s |
| Max charge current | 50A | 100A | 100A | 100A |
| Charge voltage | 14.2-14.6V | 14.4V | 14.4V | 14.4V (+/-0.2V) |
| Charge temp cutoff | 32 degrees F (0 degrees C) | -4 degrees F (-20 degrees C) w/ self-heating | 32 degrees F (0 degrees C) | 32 degrees F (0 degrees C) |
| Self-heating | No | Yes (5 degrees C activation) | No | No (separate model available) |
| Cycle life | 3,000-5,000 (conditions not stated in manual summary) | 5,000 at 80% DOD, 80% EOL, 25 degrees C | 5,000 at 80% DOD, 80% EOL, 25 degrees C | 4,000 at 100% DOD; 6,000 at 80% DOD |
| Warranty | 10 years, non-prorated yr 1-8 | 7 years | 5 years | 5 years |
| Weight | 31 lbs (14.1 kg) | 26.9 lbs (12.2 kg) | 23.15 lbs (10.5 kg) | 24.25 lbs approx. |
| Series connection | Yes | No (parallel only) | Yes (4S4P) | Yes (4S4P) |
| IP rating | Not stated in manual | IP67 | IP65 | IP65 |
All figures are from manufacturer documentation retrieved or verified this session. The BB10012 max charge current of 50A is both the BMS maximum and the recommended rate; the other three models list 100A max with lower recommended rates. Note that peak discharge duration differs between models: 400A at 1 second (LiTime) vs 200A at 30 seconds (BB10012) are not directly comparable for motor-start loads.
How to Select Based on Your Use Case
Three-season campground use, mild climate: Any of these models will work. The BB10012 carries the longest warranty and the most detailed manufacturer documentation. The Renogy Core Series and LiTime standard models cost less and carry 5-year warranties.
Four-season or winter camping: The Renogy Pro model with self-heating is the only model in this guide that allows charging below 32 degrees F. The self-heating function activates at 41 degrees F (5 degrees C) and brings cells to safe charge temperature before allowing current to flow. This is a manufacturer-stated function specific to the RBT12100LFP-BT-US. Do not assume other models in the Renogy lineup share this feature without verifying their documentation.
High-discharge loads (inverter, air conditioner): Continuous discharge current is 100A on all four models. That is the BMS sustained limit, not a burst. A 2,000W inverter draws approximately 167A from a 12V bank at full load. A single 100Ah battery cannot support that load continuously; you need to parallel batteries or use a 24V or 48V system. Route that question to the battery bank calculator.
Building a 24V or 48V bank: The BB10012 supports series connection. The Renogy Core supports 4S4P. The Renogy Pro supports parallel-only. The LiTime standard supports 4S4P. If your system design requires series connections, verify this for your specific model before purchasing.
Converter compatibility for all models: Every model in this guide requires a charger or converter that can reach the absorption voltage specified by that model. Battle Born specifies 14.2-14.6V; Renogy and LiTime specify 14.4V. A lead-acid-only converter that tops out at 13.6V is not compatible with any of these batteries. Check whether your current converter supports lithium charging profiles before purchasing a battery.
Frequently Asked Questions
What does the BMS charge temperature cutoff mean in practice? When a LiFePO4 battery's internal temperature drops below the charge cutoff (32 degrees F / 0 degrees C on most standard models), the BMS disconnects the charge circuit. Your converter will still output voltage, but no current flows into the battery. The battery will not be damaged, but it will not charge until it warms up. This is a safety function: charging lithium cells below freezing causes lithium plating that permanently reduces capacity. Models with self-heating circumvent this by warming the cells using an internal heater before allowing charge current to flow.
Why is the BB10012 max charge current only 50A when other 100Ah batteries accept 100A? Battle Born designed the BB10012 with a 50A maximum charge current and states 0.5C (50A) as both the recommended and the maximum rate. The BMS will disconnect if charge current to the battery alone exceeds 50A. This is a design decision, not a flaw. The practical implication for converter sizing is that a 55-70A total converter output is appropriate for a single BB10012 with typical house loads running simultaneously. Sizing above 70A total does not add benefit and may cause repeated BMS trips if house loads are low. The other models in this guide accept up to 100A charge current, but verify your converter's output profile against the specific model you purchase.
Do I need a special charger or converter? Yes. All LiFePO4 batteries, including every model in this guide, require a charger or converter that can reach their specified absorption voltage. For Battle Born, that is 14.2-14.6V. For Renogy and LiTime, it is 14.4V plus or minus 0.2V. A converter that tops out at 13.6V (standard lead-acid float) is not compatible. Progressive Dynamics' PD9100L series and WFCO's WF-8900-AD series are examples of converters designed for lithium profiles, but verify any specific model's spec sheet, not just the family name. See our converter compatibility guide for model-specific details.
Is the Battle Born warranty really better? In one specific way: yes. The Battle Born 10-year warranty is non-prorated for years 1-8, meaning repair or replacement is at no charge to the customer. In years 9-10, the warranty offers repair or replacement at no charge OR a 30% new-product discount. The Renogy 7-year warranty and LiTime 5-year warranty are material and workmanship warranties whose exact prorating terms require reviewing the current Renogy and LiTime warranty documents directly. Battle Born's warranty is also non-transferable and covers only the original purchaser. None of these warranties cover misuse or improper installation.
Sources
- Battle Born BB10012 / BB10012H 100Ah 12V LiFePO4 Manufacturer Manual Primary manufacturer manual for the BB10012 and BB10012H, extracted directly via pdf tool this session. Proves: max continuous discharge 100A, peak 200A at 30s, max charge current 50A (0.5C recommended), absorption voltage 14.2-14.6V, float 13.4-13.8V, BMS high-voltage cutoff 14.7V, BMS low-voltage cutoff 10V, recommended LVD 10.5V, cycle life 3,000-5,000, charge temp range 25 degrees F per spec table / 32 degrees F per BMS section (internal discrepancy, both in same document), discharge temp -4 degrees F to 135 degrees F per spec table. Authority tier: manufacturer manual. Verified live 2026-09-23.
- Battle Born 10-Year Limited Warranty (BB10012, BB10012H, BB10012i covered) Manufacturer warranty document extracted directly via pdf tool this session. Proves: 10-year warranty period starting from ship date, non-prorated repair/replace in years 1-8, 30% discount or repair/replace option in years 9-10, non-transferable, original purchaser only, covers BB10012, BB10012H, BB10012i, BB10012iH and other listed models. Authority tier: manufacturer warranty document. Verified live 2026-09-23.
- Battle Born BB10012 Product Page (battlebornbatteries.com) Manufacturer product page, confirmed live via web_fetch returning 200 OK this session with text content (short product description visible). Confirms model name BB10012, 10-year warranty claim, Group 27 and Group 31 fitment. Authority tier: manufacturer product page. Verified live 2026-09-23.
- Renogy 12V 100Ah Pro Smart LiFePO4 with Bluetooth and Self-Heating, product specification Renogy manufacturer product specification page for the Pro self-heating 100Ah model. Specification table read directly in a live browser session (the table is JavaScript-rendered and invisible to scripted fetches). Proves: 100Ah rated at 0.5C 25C, voltage range 10V to 14.8V, maximum charge and discharge current 100A, peak discharge 245A at 30s, cycle life 5000 cycles at 80% DOD to 80% end of life, charge temperature -4F to 131F, discharge temperature -4F to 140F, storage -13F to 149F, parallel up to 8, IP67, UL94-V0, 26.9 lb, 10.6 x 7.6 x 8.1 in, 7 year material and workmanship warranty, certifications MSDS UN38.3 FCC CE PSE UKCA. Verified live 2026-09-23. Authority tier: manufacturer specification.
- Renogy Core Series 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 (RBT12100LFP-G1), product specification Renogy manufacturer specification for the Core Series 100Ah LiFePO4. Proves: model RBT12100LFP-G1, 100Ah at 0.5C 25C, nominal 12.8V, voltage range 10V to 14.8V, cycle life 5000 cycles at 80% DOD to 80% end of life, charge voltage 14.4V, maximum continuous charge and discharge current 100A, peak discharge 300A at 10s, charge temperature 32F to 131F, discharge temperature -4F to 140F, weight 23.15 lb, 10.6 x 6.9 x 8.6 in, series and parallel to 4S4P, IP65, 5 year warranty. Renogy's own product FAQ separately states the Core delivers 5000 cycles at a recommended 80% depth of discharge and that low-temperature cutoff prevents charging below 32F. Verified 2026-09-23; an earlier citation to an au.renogy.com spec PDF was dropped because that URL now 404s. Authority tier: manufacturer specification.
- LiTime 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 (Group 31) product specification LiTime manufacturer product specification page. Specification table read directly in a live browser session (JavaScript-rendered). Proves: nominal 12.8V, rated 100Ah, 1280Wh, maximum continuous charge current 100A, maximum continuous discharge current 100A, maximum discharge 400A for 1 second, CC/CV charging at 14.4V plus or minus 0.2V, recommended charge current 20A, charge temperature 32F to 122F, discharge temperature -4F to 140F, cycle life 4000 cycles at 100% DOD / 6000 at 80% DOD / 15000 at 60% DOD, maximum expansion 4S4P, Group 31 size 13 x 6.77 x 8.43 in, 24.25 lb, IP65, 5 year warranty, compliant with IEC 62619 and certified FCC, CE, RoHS, UN38.3. Verified live 2026-09-23. Authority tier: manufacturer specification.
- LiTime 12V 100Ah Batteries Collection Page (warranty confirmation) Manufacturer collection page, confirmed live via web_fetch returning 200 OK this session. FAQ text retrieved: 'LiTime offers a 5-year warranty on our batteries.' Confirms 5-year warranty claim. Authority tier: manufacturer web content. Verified live 2026-09-23.
- Battle Born BB10012 Product Resources Page (warranty and datasheet listing) Battle Born product resources page listing the 10-year limited warranty download and BB10012 / BB10012H data sheet. Retrieved this session via web search showing page content from battlebornbatteries.com. Confirms the warranty document is manufacturer-issued and covers the listed models. Authority tier: manufacturer support page. Verified live 2026-09-23.
Published 2026-09-23. Electrical specifications are model-specific: confirm every figure against the manual for your exact equipment before acting on it.